Life At 6pm

Monday Morning Downloads | April 20, 2009

*Yesterday was fantastic!  Even if I sat down and scripted the day out it could not have gone anywhere near as great as it did.

*I started the day teaching the adult Sunday School class.  We had some great discussion time and LOTS of class input.  We started our new series on “the church” by defining the local church.   What a great class! Filled with lots of people who love Jesus and want to get deeper into His Word.  I need to come up with a few options for a class name.  I’m open to suggestions.

*We arrived back at church by about 5:00.  Had to stop for coffee of course 🙂

*When I walked in, the whole band was on the platform.  And when I say the “whole” band I mean the WHOLE band.  Donald was leading last night and Donovan had three guitarists up there with them.  And filling in on bass? Donovan Eades himself!!!  Awesome…

*Joe had a great graphic up for the new series.  Very cool.  Like something off of a 1930’s mystery magazine.

*Donovan is continuing to let a different one of his musicians and singers lead each week.  This makes things seem a bit inconsistent but the reality is that we are staying consistent with our vision for the service.  I’ve always felt that this is a great service for God’s servants to make the next step in leadership. That doesn’t mean we leave a wide open door to anyone and everyone that feels called, but someone that has shown him/herself to be dedicated to the Lord and to what He is doing on Sunday nights has a great opportunity to step forward on Sunday nights.  Last night, Donald led worship.

*Donald did a great job. He really worked well with the others and he has a true heart for worship and for serving.

*I felt great about the message (once I got started).  I will admit that I was sweating it a bit before I started.  I had read and re-read and studied and studied but there were still certain areas that the Lord had not made totally clear to me. On top of that, the areas that He had made clear were HARD teachings.  So, stepping up to the front, I honestly did not know what to expect.

*Last night was another one of those defining moment nights for me.  I felt the Lord’s presence and control all over me from beginning to end and I found Him surprising me and teaching me as we went along.  Amazing!

*This series started several weeks ago when the Lord spoke to me so clearly one morning.  What did He say? He said, “Don’t you forget me, Jason.”

*So in response to that, we launched the series, “THR3E”.  Three things Christians should never forget.

*Last night’s message was “Never forget where we came from.”

*I will post the scriptures later today. We were in Luke, Numbers, Deuteronomy, Matthew and John.

*Lots of people have been asking me about the new direction the Lord has taken our family in regards to my job, our ministry, Tree of Life, and all things related.  So, in response to that I will be post a blog on Thursday that will bring everyone up to speed about what the Lord has been doing in our lives and what He has in store for us.

*Next week, “Christians should never forget each other”.

~Jason Queen, Tree of Life Ministries


Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment